М

ST. MICHAEL’S GOLDEN-DOMED MONASTERY  

St. Michael’s Golden-Domed Monastery - built in 1108-1113 years by Prince Sviatopolk Iziaslavich based on St. Michael's Golden-Domed Cathedral. It is cross-dome six-storied monastery with three nephes and one gilded dome. The walls of the cathedral were decorated with mosaics and frescoes. It was one of the largest monasteries of Ancient Kyiv.

  • St. Michael’s Golden-Domed Monastery was completed in 1113. It is the first monastery in Kievan Rus with gilded domes.

  • In 1934-36 the buildings were destroyed because of the construction of government quarter. Before the dismantling, almost all frescoes and mosaics were dismantled and taken to Russian museums.

  • After the restoration in 1998, there is a functioning church and monastery museum with unique exhibits.

  • During the Revolution of Dignity on 11 December 2013, its bells rang in alarm for the first time since the Mongol invasion in 1240.

- There are days when you can ring the bells of St. Michael’s Golden-Domed Monastery. It is a unique opportunity!

ГО "ЖИВЕ МІСТО,КИЇВ". Сайт створений на Wix.com